metadata


Here is a nice link on writing I found as I went hunting for inspiration on the net. I need constant inspiration, because the kind of job I have leaves me with exactly enough motivation to eat and sleep. And here are my favorites

Ink surrounds me all the time
On my bed sheets, recorded in rhyme
Quills ever scribbling in my head
Sometimes damnit I forget what they said.
Ink has settled into my fingerprints
But to keep the words I fear to rinse…
~Terri Guillemets

The most essential gift for a good writer is a built-in, shockproof shit detector. This is the writer’s radar and all great writers have had it. ~Ernest Hemingway, interview in Paris Review, Spring 1958

I never think at all when i write
nobody can do two things at the same time
and do them both well
~Don Marquis, Archy’s Life of Mehitabel, 1933

It is impossible to discourage the real writers – they don’t give a damn what you say, they’re going to write. ~Sinclair Lewis

It is necessary to write, if the days are not to slip emptily by. How else, indeed, to clap the net over the butterfly of the moment? For the moment passes, it is forgotten; the mood is gone; life itself is gone. That is where the writer scores over his fellows: he catches the changes of his mind on the hop. ~Vita Sackville-West

Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand. ~George Orwell, “Why I Write,” 1947 (Thanks, Jennifer)

Writing is utter solitude, the descent into the cold abyss of oneself. ~Franz Kafka

The artist’s only responsibility is his art. He will be completely ruthless if he is a good one…. If a writer has to rob his mother, he will not hesitate: The “Ode on a Grecian Urn” is worth any number of old ladies. ~Faulkner, quoted in M. Cowley, Writers at Work, 1958

Let’s hope the institution of marriage survives its detractors, for without it there would be no more adultery and without adultery two thirds of our novelists would stand in line for unemployment checks. ~Peter S. Prescott

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you. ~Ray Bradbury

The good writers touch life often. The mediocre ones run a quick hand over her. The bad ones rape her and leave her for the flies. ~Ray Bradbury

Being an author is having angels whisper in your ear – and devils, too. ~Graycie Harmon

Authors and lovers always suffer some infatuation, from which only absence can set them free. ~Samuel Johnson

An original writer is not one who imitates nobody, but one whom nobody can imitate. ~Chateaubriand, Le Génie du Christianisme, 1802

A word is not the same with one writer as with another. One tears it from his guts. The other pulls it out of his overcoat pocket. ~Charles Peguy

What no wife of a writer can ever understand is that a writer is working when he’s staring out of the window. ~Burton Rascoe

Every writer I know has trouble writing. ~Joseph Heller

There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein. ~Walter Wellesley “Red” Smith

If I don’t write to empty my mind, I go mad. ~Lord Byron

Writers are not just people who sit down and write. They hazard themselves. Every time you compose a book your composition of yourself is at stake. ~E.L. Doctorow

3 Responses

  1. Fabulous list. I’m so glad that I can relate to more than a couple of them. Hope that proves that I’m a writer, and not a purveyor of tripe.

    ~Thanks Tooty :)! Of course you are a writer.

  2. These are all wonderful. I cannot tell you how much better I felt after reading this.

    ~Thanks Posky, me too :)!

  3. I don’t think I’m a writer, but I like to doodle without pictures.

    I love quotes … or is it quotas?

    ?~You love quotas? That is so strange and typical… Thanks Ross, I believe you may be a writer after all, just dont look directly at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

