behind the iron curtain


someday from this time
I will be gone and there’s nothing
you can ever do about it
you can talk to my body
it will pretend it hears
all the right nuances
it will say words exactly just so
and yet I wont be inside

someday from another time
I will forgive you for today
remember you are just an ignorant child
wanting me like a favorite toy
to cloister and break
to cloy with your eyes
to dance under a tent
on your table

someday from another place
we could have met and you could be all grown up
not out for all you can get
not freezing against rot
you would be a sentinel for the free
not some lonely prison guard

someday you may reach your future
you may remember
what I saw someday before
and couldn’t show you
anymore

7 Responses

  1. I love this poem; it so reminds me of myself. I have found that when I start singing someday, the parts referring to myself are already well in motion. As for the other person; usually when that someday comes around, i no longer give a s…t. Great poem!

    ~MM – Thanks Cordie, would love to hear you sing :)!

  2. Gosh… I love this sooo much! A further reminder to me of just how talented you are in making music with words.

    This is all at once beautiful, heartbreaking and tender…

    ~MM – Thanks Tracey :)!

  3. can so relate…sigh…

    ~MM – Thanks Shraddha 😦

  4. Universal!

    ~MM – Thanks Maxine :)!

  5. Wow, this really hits home for me. Thanks.

    ~MM – Thanks Cocoyea!

  6. Oh, this is just so lovely…
    you may remember
    what I saw someday before
    and couldn’t show you
    anymore
    ……..The words resonated so well for me! 🙂

    ~MM – Thanks Neilina, good to see you!

  7. nice, I like it.
    Well put together and gets to the heart of a few things

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

