act two


i have a
chip in my shoulder
and a noose around my neck
i indulge in instant replays
i am
a memory of a wreck

 

i have a
chip in my shoulder
a grandelusion in the head
i cannot brain you but I can
tweet out
a burning shade of red

 

i have a
chip in my shoulder
and a tongue inside my cheek
a ruse to get my every want
i grow
a demon at my feet

 

i have a
chip in my shoulder
too much gravity in my throat
a death knell for a daily alarm
i use
another one for the road

 

i have a
chip in my shoulder
and its growing down my back
creaking with my studied turns
it bursts
into shrapnel when attacked
…and grows again

 
4 Responses

  1. so many demons… and so few qualified exorcists in this day and age…however, it appears you have fulfilled your dramatic objective here…

    p.s. you don’t wanna know where my chip is embedded…

    ~MM – Thanks Chico!! yeah at least i gave it a damned good shot, I have a fair idea where you figure, um, ouch 😦

  2. That is amazing. The disciplined structure gives the poem a really tight feel and there is that swirling nexus between psychology, myth and language that makes your work so distinctive and intriguing.

    ~MM – Woohoo Paul, that feels great to hear, thank you, I will treasure this!

  3. Usually, due no doubt to a genetic defect, I must rely upon the comments of others to comprehend your meaning. But today things have changed. I actually noticed something about this poem that I didn’t have to have explained to me: It rhymes! Now rhyming I understand (even if I can’t comprehend the meaning in the words): It”s…rhythmic: It flows: It’s easier on the eye – well at least to someone like me – a literary heathen.

    ~MM – Thanks Tooty, YAYZ, you like it :)!! I too must confess to being a closet rhymer which puts paid to any aspirations of grief stricken greatness :(:(, ah well …

  4. i love these lines!

    i grow
    a demon at my feet

    too much gravity in my throat
    a death knell for a daily alarm

    reminded me of pj harvery, another lady unafraid to occasionally rhyme.

    ~MM – I haven’t read her yet :), let me check it out… Thank you Jason!

Leave a Reply

